Recipes

Sesame Seed Baked Chicken

img_0527There is something about fried chicken that makes it the ultimate comfort food. KFC has always been my favourite takeaway, I would choose it over Mc Donald’s and Burger King any day. Chicken from KFC just makes everything better; if you are hungover, just broken up with your boyfriend or just having a bad day. Chicken is always there for you!

I would have eaten my fair share of KFC since moving out of home, but since being diagnosed with diabetes I have cut back a fair bit. I knew that there had to be a way of making a healthy fried chicken that I could cook at home whenever I was having cravings or a bad day.

There has been a lot of trial and error trying to get this recipe just right. Mum and I first tried to use LSA (Linseed, Sunflower Seed and Almond) buttermilk coating. This resulted in a very thick coating and need a lot of LSA as it needs a lot of liquid. We then tried a mix of almond meal and coconut flour with spices as the coating. This worked out better than the LSA but was still a thick coating and didn’t stick very well to the chicken.

We had no coconut flour in the pantry (shock horror) and I told mum that I was craving fried chicken. We did, however, have sesame flour in the pantry. After a bit of googling we realised, we could use this the same as other flours in baking, and the result was AMAZING!

This recipe would work for any type of chicken whether you had thighs or drumsticks in your freezer. It also makes for great leftovers the next day.

Sesame Seed Baked Chicken 

1/2 cup of sesame seed flour

1/4 cup of sesame seeds

2 tbsp of smoked paprika

salt and pepper

  1. Pre heat your oven to 180. Line a baking tray witimg_0525h baking paper.
  2. Mix the ingredients together in a small bowl. Crack 2 eggs and whisk into another small bowl.
  3. Dip the chicken tenders into the bowl of eggs and then dip into the bowl of sesame seed coating.
  4. Place the coated chicken onto the baking tray.
  5. Bake until golden brown

X

3 thoughts on “Sesame Seed Baked Chicken”

  1. Looks yummy! I share your love for fried chicken, lol. My favorite comfort food used to be boneless buffalo wings. Fried, crunchy, fatty deliciousness. It always made a crummy day better. I think I will have to find a way to re-create it because plain wings without the crunchy outer crust are just NOT the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

