Nutrition

7 Tips for Staying Healthy and Travelling

If you follow my blog you’ll know that last week was my first week long holiday away alone with my diabetes. I had a week long workshop for my studies in New Plymouth.

I was petrified of being alone and something going wrong. The terrible ‘What If?’ questions kept creeping into my mind; what if I go low and don’t realise in the night? What if I go low in class and have an attack?. My mind was going crazy.

Eating well, staying non-stressed and getting plenty of sleep is highly important for well-managed blood sugar levels. I knew I was going to have to plan all of my food, medications, and supplements to ensure that nothing could go wrong. I also had a lot of food prep I needed to do as I was staying in a ‘matchbox apartment’ which had no kitchen but did have a electric frying pan, a fridge and a kettle.

These are my top 7 tips on how to stay ahead of your healthy eating while travelling or in a small kitchen situation.

  1. Meal prep your favourite salad to take away with you.

I love coleslaw and eat it with basically every meal as you can use a wide range of vegetables and it will never get boring. I made a huge container of coleslaw so that I was able to use it for dinners and lunch

2. Cold meats

The morning before I left I grabbed a rotisserie chicken and popped that into a container to take with me. I knew this would give me some chicken for dinner on the first night and some left over for cold chicken and coleslaw for lunch the next day.

I also packed some chicken breasts to pop into the fridge when I got to New Plymouth, but meat can always be purchased from the supermarket once you get to your destination.

3. Always take breakfast with you and eat it where you are staying.

Breakfast can end up being quite expensive compared to being able to whip something together where ever you are staying. For breakfast options, I packed eggs, avocado and a loaf of paleo bread. This can always make a great dinner or lunch option if travelling alone. I also packed some coconut, chia seeds and nut milk so that I could make some chia seed puddings to use for breakfast or snacks throughout the week.

4. Lots and lots of snacks

Snacks are so important for road trips if not for eating in the car but for keeping yourself satisfied while exploring instead of buying ‘naughty’ foods. For snacks throughout the week, I packed some low carb muesli bars, cheese sticks, plenty of carrots and a variety of fruit. You could also take a sealed pack of home-popped popcorn, nuts and seeds, dark chocolate squares.

5. Easy takeaway meals from the supermarket.

On the Wednesday and Thursday, I was craving soup and some nice warm food as the weather was a lot colder than I had expected. I popped into the supermarket and grabbed a packet of Pitango soup. This is my go to soup as it’s full of real food, delicious flavours and is so easy to pop into the microwave and eat. It’s an awesome option for those nights when travelling alone, tired and just can’t be bothered cooking.

6. Take your favourite tea with you. 

My nightly ritual is a few slices of cheese and a cup of tea. My parents have always done this also from when we were little so I’ve grown up with this little ritual. I take a few of my favourite tea bags with me everywhere I go, most places have a kettle or boiling water. This trip I took Pukka’s relax herbal tea blend to help me destress after all the study I was going to be doing.

7. Pack a bottle fill of water.

You never know what the water situation will be like in the place you are staying, or in the city’s water supply. In my little matchbox apartment there was no sink, so getting fresh water was done by filling up a bottle in the shower or filling the kettle up in the bathroom sink (it wouldn’t fit a water bottle under it) and boiling it and then placing it in the fridge for the next day. I am glad I brought a spare water bottle with me to keep in the fridge and refill at college during the day. Or if you are aware of chlorine, fluoride and other contaminants that can be in water supply and you don’t like the idea of putting these extra toxins in your body, taking your own water is a must.

Any other great tips that you and your family do when off on holiday?

X

Leave a Reply

