Nutrition, Recipes

Summer’s Coming feat Pop’s Burgers

Down in the southern hemisphere you can tell its Spring time and that means Summer is almost here. The days are getting longer and my white legs are coming out to blind everyone.

Late this morning my partner and I decided to make the most of a gorgeous spring day and took the dog for a walk in the sunshine up Dolbel Reserve to look over the view. We got back and filled out bellies with a fresh chicken and bacon salad. Best thing about making salad for my partner is that he can’t taste when I have snuck in some sauerkraut.

This afternoon I tanned in the sun while doing my studies and thinking about what I wanted for dinner. Summer makes me want to eat lots of fresh produce and berries. it always reminds me of light, refreshing foods that are full of flavour.

Summer also reminds me of BBQ’s and sitting outside with friends and family with plenty of rose. After sitting in the sun tanning I decided dinner tonight would be burgers and cauliflower non-potato salad in preparation for summer.

These burger patties are based on my Pop’s old recipe that he would make for my mum and aunties. The patties are bound together with a tiny bit of almond meal making them low carb and easy to fill with plenty of veggies to hide from the children (or fussy father in my case).

Potato salad is always a must have at any kiwi BBQ. I cannot imagine going to any family BBQ without potato salad being there, fill of creaminess, slightly warmed potatoes and plenty of red onion. Cauliflower is the hero of the low carb diet, and its not different with potato salad. Omit the potato for roasted cauliflower and YUM!

Pop’s Burger Patties

(Will make around 11 palm size patties)

900g of mince

1/2 onion diced

1/2 capsicum diced

1 tsp chipotle powder

1 tbsp Moroccan spice

1 tbsp beef stock powder

3tbsp almond meal

3 eggs

1 grated zucchini

Stir and mix all ingredients together. Roll and flatten into palm size patties and fry in olive oil, butter or coconut oil.

Note: I cooked four at a time and placed the others in a warm oven while cooking the next batch.

In the last batch fry of the other half of the onion to add to your burgers.

Cauliflower No-potato Salad

1 cauliflower (chopped into florets and roasted for 20 minutes at 200degrees)

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1 tbsp of olive oil

1 small red onion

3 hard boiled eggs chopped into smaller pieces

1/2 cup of unsweetened greek yoghurt

salt and ground pepper to taste

Mix all of the sauce ingredients together. Once the cauliflower has cooled, mix in into the sauce and add the chopped eggs.

Enjoy for your next BBQ

X

Leave a Reply

