diabetes

“OMG, you’re so lucky. Diabetes made you so fit”

If I had a dollar every time I heard this I would be a millionaire. Okay well maybe I would be like 20 dollars richer but still, I hear this comment a lot. I constantly have friends whom I haven’t seen or talked to in a while making comments like this.

At least getting diabetes meant you have to be fit and healthy!

People think that since I was diagnosed with diabetes, I have to be healthy, I have to eat well and as a result my body looks the way it does. This is definitely FALSE and the truth is actually the complete opposite from this.

One of the hardest things to deal with when diagnosed is weight.(Lets be real, weight at any stage of our life no matter what is hard to deal with). Insulin is a weight storing hormone. When diagnosed with type 1 diabetes we are put on insulin injections, allowing our body to finally have insulin circulating and the storage of glucose in our cells to occur. It sounds like a good thing, finally our bodies are working the way they are suppose to.

452A0721-9F8B-46A2-924E-4E3B332BA92D
My smallest weight on the left and 65kg on the right

Unfortunately it can be a bit of a mind fuck. Before I was diagnosed I weights 55kgs. Everyone was asking me if I was okay and that said it looked like I had a eating problem despite eating more food then ever. In a month after being diagnosed my weight was fluctuating between 70 to 75kgs. It was so hard to look at pre diagnosis pictures of myself or look at my self in the mirror, constantly just looking at being heavier then before. This problem leads so many people, especially women, with type 1 diabetes to have eating disorders and create problems in regards to food.

Injecting more and more insulin can result in a constant increase of weight. I was at my heaviest when I was injecting the most insulin into my body (around 30 units of long term a day and 100 units of short term in 2 weeks). It was during this time I was trying to get my bloods finally under control and was not on a low carb diet, so I needed a lot more insulin. It makes it really hard; inject more insulin so that you have better control over your blood sugars but in return you are probably going to gain some weight.

I sat around 70kgs (as seen in pictures below) for a long time even though I went to the gym every day and ate semi healthy. (I definitely still enjoyed chicken tenders a wee bit too much but who does’t). Once I started on a low carb diet my insulin injections dropped, my blood sugars lowered and my weight dropped as well.

I know sit comfortably at 60kgs with very little fluctuation. My blood sugars are generally stable. (I say generally because who knows when diabetes decided to throw us a curve ball like go crazy one day for getting my period). I work hard at living a low carb high fat lifestyle to ensure my body is healthy and my diabetes is managed well and to the best that I can.

Getting diagnosed hasn’t made me fit and healthy and forced me to eat healthy. My decisions are the reason why I am fit, healthy and eat the way I do. Type 1 diabetes has increased the importance of taking care of my body, but my own actions and mind has allowed me to have the determination and strength to take care of my body.

Love Always,

Samantha

X

 

 

7 thoughts on ““OMG, you’re so lucky. Diabetes made you so fit””

Leave a Reply

