Nutrition, Recipes

Day 3 + Raw Lemon Cheesecake

Its Day 3 of gut healing so far and it is terrible weather outside. All I have wanted to do is crawl up in bed and do absolutely nothing, but instead I have been baking all morning while watching Zac Efron movies haha.

I don’t know what goes through our brains sometimes, but yesterday all I wanted to do was eat cronuts, and croissants, and muffins and donuts. I don’t normally crave these things, unless I am having a bad day. It’s like my brain knew I definitely wasn’t allowed these foods so all I wanted was these foods. (stupid brain lol)

My morning routine consists of Apple Cider Vinegar in lemon water, yoga, taking my supplements (Vitamin C, Glutagencis, B Vitamin, Multi Vitamin, Fish Oil and CoQ10) and then finally having breakfast. Today wasn’t too bad, but yesterday I was STARVING and my blood sugars are low so I had breakfast and then did yoga later on in the day.

I have been a wee bit more tired then usual, but I don’t think the crappy wet and cold weather has helped those feelings of just wanting to watch movies or do not a lot with my day.

Today I baked a gluten free, dairy free, soy free, nut free, sugar free and paleo chocolate cake from the blog 84th and 3rd, it was AMAZING and super moist. Im not a big cake eater but my best friend and her partner ate all of it, and even had some for breakfast this morning. If you are in need of a allergy-friendly cake for a birthday or occasion coming up definitely check her recipe out.

http://84thand3rd.com/2014/08/19/best-ever-gluten-free-chocolate-cake-dairy-free-nut-free-probably-paleo-too/

Until then, or you are wanting something more on the fruity side, I am sharing my raw lemon cheesecake recipe. It is based on one from the Unconventional Baker, but with a few changed to make it slightly more diabetic friendly then it already is.

This cheesecake its full of lemon and ginger flavours, perfect for those winter dinner parties where everyone needs a hit of these nutrients, or in the summer when you are wanting something light and fresh. The recipe will make 1 x 5″ cake.

IMG_1938.JPG

Raw Lemon Cheesecake

Base:

3/4 cup of almonds

1 date (soaked over night if not medjool date)

1 tbsp coconut oil (liquified)

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 knob of grated ginger (or less depending on how much you love ginger)

Place all ingredients into a food process, apart from coconut oil, and blend until until a crumble has formed. Add the coconut oil and process to combine. Transfer the mixture into a springfoam or cake pan and press down to compact. Pop into the freezer while making the filling.

Filling:

3/4 cups of cashews (soaked overnight)

5 tbsp of lemon juice

1 tbsp of maple syrup

2 tbsp of coconut oil (liquified)

1 tsp of ground ginger

1/2 tsp of turmeric

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp of chia seeds.

Blend everything, apart from chia seeds, in your food processor until a smooth mixture is formed. Fold the chia seeds into the mixture rather then blending, so that they are seen throughout the mixture. Pour the mixture over the base and place in the freezer for 5 hours or overnight. Remove with plenty of time before serving to allow for the cake to defrost a wee bit to become so that the middle isn’t frozen.

To be honest, my cheesecake didn’t last very long. The whole family had to try a piece, but it did last overnight in the fridge without melting or becoming a softened base. If your wanting it too last a wee while, place back in the freezer for storage.

Happy baking this weekend.

Love always,

Sam

x

 

 

Leave a Reply

